Grow Up (& Blow Away)

“I don’t want to grow up – I want to be a sociopath for the rest of my life.”

Who wants to grow up anyway? Buy a car, drive to work to pay for the car- an endless cycle of 9 to 5 monotony to sitting on the Turnpike and twiddling my thumbs over a phone…. Who knows what I would do just to feel something? I am entitled, I am selfish, I am narcissistic. This is not a product of my upbringing, but of the ‘teenage mentality’, you see. Our human bodies hate us so much they pour a cocktail of hormones into our system. We feel everything so hard it becomes a white blinding flash, to a dull gray… congratulations, you are coasting on the brink of the abyss. Some call it apathy. Idiots will call it sociopathy. I’m not an idiot, I know the difference. Being a sociopath means that you live in the abyss, in a two-story house with a white-picket fence that your parents, teachers, and friends imprisoned you in. Grown-ups, they live in that abyss too, but they paint their walls a pleasant color and blast bubbly music loud enough to drown out awareness. For instance, look at all this nonsense in purple. I’ll let you in on a little secret: you can’t stop the inevitable, and I’ve already decided that I like this bubbly music.

IMG_0752

Leave a Reply

